

CALL FOR NOMINATIONS THE HOLBERG PRIZE 2019

The Holberg Prize is an international research prize awarded to scholars who have made outstanding contributions to research in the arts and humanities, social sciences, law or theology. The prize money amounts to NOK 6 million (EUR 617.000 / appr. USD 760.000). The Holberg Prize was established by the Norwegian Government in 2003 and is awarded annually.

How to nominate?

Scholars holding a position at universities or other research institutions are entitled to nominate candidates for the Holberg Prize.

The Holberg Committee will base its assessment on the letters of nomination (1 page maximum), which must state the reasons for the nomination. Nominations should also contain a brief CV for the candidate and suggestions for referees who know the scholar's work. Joint nominations will not carry extra weight. Nominations are strictly confidential. The 2019 Holberg Prize Laureate will be announced in March 2019.

To nominate, go to: holbergprisen.no/en. Letters of nomination must be sent by 15 June 2018.

Holberg Laureates 2004–2018:

2011: Jürgen Kocka

2018. Cass R. Sunstein 2010: Natalie Zemon Davis

2017: Onora O'Neill 2009: Ian Hacking

2016: Stephen Greenblatt 2008: Fredric R. Jameson

2015: Marina Warner 2007: Ronald Dworkin 2014: Michael Cook 2006: Shmuel N. Fisensta

2014: Michael Cook 2006: Shmuel N. Eisenstadt 2013: Bruno Latour 2005: Jürgen Habermas

2012: Manuel Castells 2004: Julia Kristeva

If you have any queries, please do not hesitate to contact Ms. Solveig Stornes, Project Manager: info@holbergprisen.no