Digital Technologies and the Stakes for Representative Democracy

A conference co-organized by the Hellenic Parliament Foundation, the European Parliament, the Cypriot House of Representatives, the Estonian Parliament, the Italian Chamber of Deputies, the Portuguese Assembly of the Republic and the Spanish Congress of Deputies.

Athens-Nafplion, 10-12 June 2022













https://foundation.parliament.gr/en · fidrimavoulis





Free entrance upon presentation of a valid ID document

Friday, 10 June 2022

Hall of the Senate, Hellenic Parliament

18:00-18:20 Welcome address

Constantine An. Tassoulas

President of the Hellenic Parliament

18:20-19:00 Keynote address

Chair: Bruno Dias Pinheiro

Konstantinos Papageorgiou, Burke's "Speech to the Electors

of Bristol" revisited

19:00-19:30 Coffee break

19:30-21:00 Parliamentary legitimacy in the new era

Chair: Marion Guillart

Javier de Piniés, The future of Law in modern representative democracies

Vassiliki Christou, Digitalization and the rise of an 'individualized' democracy? A defense for party representation

Panagiotis Doudonis, Has technology weakened parliamentary legitimacy?

Anthony Teasdale, Will all politics be digital? The future of representative and participatory democracy in Europe

Saturday, 11 June 2022

Hall of the Senate, Hellenic Parliament

9:30-11:00 Parliamentary experience

Chair: María López Moreno de Cala

Arne Koitmäe, The impact of e-voting on participation and turnout **Giovanni Rizzoni**, Digitalizing the knowledge support functions for Parliaments: The Italian experience

Luis Manuel Miranda López, How did the remote voting system work in the Spanish Parliament during the COVID 19 pandemic: Original regulation and necessary reforms

Bruno Dias Pinheiro, The impact of technology in interparliamentary cooperation: How is the digital transition enhancing the role of national Parliaments in the EU?

11:00-11:30 Coffee break

11:30-12:45 The need for adjustment I

Chair: Giovanni Rizzoni

Christos Papastylianos, Individual rights and the threat of disinformation and polarisation

Costas Stratilatis, The concept of representation and the New Media

Ismini Kriari, Parliaments' response to novel technological challenges: organs and procedures

17:00-18:30 The need for adjustment II

Chair: **Etienne Bassot**

María López Moreno de Cala, Remote voting in a digital era:
Are Parliaments prepared for an extensive application to the detriment of the attendance required by the Constitution?
Achilles C. Emilianides, Al and Parliament efficiency
Stephan Lewandowsky, Democratic rights and online platforms:

Pressure points and solutions

18:30-19:00 Coffee break

19:00-20:30 Round Table

Chair: Nikos K. Alivizatos

Eva Kaili

Alexandre Quintanilha

Riina Sikkut

Christos-Georgios Skertsos

Sunday, 12 June 2022

Vouleftikon, Nafplion Workshop

Plenary session: Conclusions - Next steps?

Chair: Ismini Kriari Eschel Alpermann Marion Guillart

Evanthis Hatzivassiliou



ACADEMIC COMMITTEE

Nikos K. Alivizatos, Emeritus Professor, National and Kapodistrian
University of Athens, member, Venice Commission • Eschel Alpermann,
Head of Strategy and Innovation Unit, European Parliament • Bruno Dias
Pinheiro, Permanent Member of the COSAC Secretariat, former Permanent
Representative of the Portuguese Assembly of the Republic to the EU
Institutions • Achilles C. Emilianides, Professor, Dean of the School of
Law, University of Nicosia • Marion Guillart, Permanent Representative of
the Estonian Parliament to the EU • Evanthis Hatzivassiliou, Professor,
National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Secretary-General, Hellenic
Parliament Foundation • Theodore Karapiperis, former Head of Scientific
Foresight Unit, European Parliament • María López Moreno de Cala,
Director of the International Relations Department, Congress of Deputies
of Spain • Giovanni Rizzoni, Head of the Research Service, Chamber of
Deputies of Italy.

COORDINATOR

Dr. Christos Christidis, Hellenic Parliament Foundation.

LIST OF SPEAKERS

Etienne Bassot, Director of the Members' Research Service, European Parliament • Vassiliki Christou, Assistant Professor, Law School, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens • Bruno Dias Pinheiro, Permanent Member of the COSAC Secretariat, former Permanent Representative of the Portuguese Assembly of the Republic to the EU Institutions • Panagiotis Doudonis, Lecturer, Oriel College, University of Oxford • Achilles C. Emilianides, Professor, Dean of the School of Law, University of Nicosia •

Marion Guillart, Permanent Representative of the Estonian Parliament to the EU • Evanthis Hatzivassiliou, Professor, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, Secretary-General, Hellenic Parliament Foundation • Eva Kaili, Vice-President, European Parliament • Arne Koitmäe, Head of the State Electoral Office of Estonia • Ismini Kriari, Professor, former Rector, Panteion University, Member of the Executive Committee of the Hellenic Parliament Foundation • Stephan Lewandowsky, Chair of Cognitive Psychology, School of Psychological Science, University of Bristol • María López Moreno de Cala, Director of the International Relations Department, Congress of Deputies of Spain, former Professor of Constitutional Law • Luis Manuel Miranda López, Head of the Department for Plenary Sittings, Congress of Deputies of Spain, Professor of Constitutional Law in the Charles III University of Madrid • Konstantinos **Papageorgiou**, Professor, Law School, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens • Christos Papastylianos, Associate Professor, Head of the Department of Law, University of Nicosia • Javier de Piniés, Legal Advisor of the Congress of Deputies of Spain, Professor of Constitutional Law in the CUNEF University of Madrid • Alexandre Quintanilha, President of the Parliamentary Commission on Education and Science, Parliament of Portugal • Giovanni Rizzoni, Head of the Research Service, Chamber of Deputies of Italy • Riina Sikkut, Co-Chair of the Digital Transformation Working Group of the Conference on the Future of Europe, and former Minister of Estonia • Christos-Georgios Skertsos, Minister of State responsible for the coordination of government policies • Costas **Stratilatis**, Associate Professor, Department of Law, University of Nicosia • Anthony Teasdale, Director General, European Parliamentary Research Service, European Parliament.